Yummy Southwest Soup

IMG_2123.JPG

Hi! So, I came across this recipe from another blog after looking through the archives on Pinterest. I was instantly intrigued to try this recipe because the ingredients are all things that I love, and it seemed fairly easy. I tried this yummy soup out on my new Crockpot. 

Why I love this:

-It takes one pot (other than the chicken, which will need to be cooked separately)

-Healthy!

-Pretty inexpensive

-Very quick and easy

-Feeds a family of at least 4

The link for the original recipe is here

I did indeed use parsley, like the recipe calls for, but I wish that I would have had cilantro!

I also added these spices for additional flavor – probably a teaspoon of each

thyme

basil

oregano 

garlic powder  (I may have put a tablespoon)

Another change to the recipe, I felt that 2 lbs of chicken was a lot. I used two LARGE chicken breasts initially, but after I boiled the chicken and shredded, I felt like it was too much. I had about half a chicken breast left, which I stored for later use.

I cooked on high for one hour.

I served this with shredded cheese, a dollop of sour cream, and tortilla chips. ACTUALLY, I didn’t have tortilla chips on hand, however I did have taco shells! So, I crumbled and used that instead.

Next time, I think I would add a little bit more heat to the recipe. Possibly a jalapeño? 

Hope you try this out and it makes you and yours very happy!

Amanda

Leave a Reply

